Raj Babbar, Actor-politician, Gets Two-year Prison Term For 1996 Assault

Thursday, a court in Mumbai rendered a decision in a case involving the attack of a polling inspector and released its decision. Former actor Raj Babbar, who later entered politics, has been given a two-year jail term. Raj was last seen in the 2021 Hotstar web series Dil Bekaraar.

In addition to three other charges, Raj was found guilty of intentionally inflicting harm to a public employee to prevent him from doing his responsibilities. In addition, the court ordered him to pay a fine of 8,500 rupees.

During the election that occurred in May 1996, a poll worker filed a police complaint against Raj. The complaint was submitted at the Wazirganj police station. During that era, Raj stood for office under the Samajwadi Party flag.

On Thursday, the judge pronounced the judgment in front of Raj, who was present in the courtroom. The leader of the Congress has been convicted of interference with government duties and physical violence. Babbar was accused of assaulting a government officer in 1996 while voting in the Lok Sabha.

Babbar was campaigning for office in Lucknow at the time and belonged to the Samajwadi Party. The incident took place on May 2, 1996.

His Bio

Raj Babbar was born in Agra, Uttar Pradesh, on June 23, 1952, to Kaushal Kumar and Shobha Rani’s parents. He graduated with a degree in theater. In addition, he attended the prestigious National School of Drama in Delhi. In 1980, his first film, Insaaf Ka Tarazu, was released. His most well-known films are Saazish, Aankhen, Dalaal, The Gambler, Andaz, Yaarana, Barsaat, and Ziddi.

After performing in more than 150 films and 30 stage productions, the actor chose to become politically involved. In the early 1990s, Raj joined the Samajwadi Party, and in 1994 he was elected to the Rajya Sabha. There, he worked on several committees, including the Ministry of Civil Aviation, Consultative Committee, and the Home Affairs Committee. In 1999, he ran for the Agra seat and won by a margin of over 1,100,000 votes, defeating his closest opponent, BS Rawat of the BJP.

He enrolled with the Indian National Congress in 2008. The following year, he was elected to a fourth term as a member of parliament. In 2014 and 2019, he failed in his attempts to get elected to the Lok Sabha.

You may also like...