SAG Awards 2022: “Squid Game,” “CODA” Won Massively And Make History; Check It out Here!

Ted Lasso, head of “Squid Recreation,” and Troy Kotsur, of “CODA,” have received the 28th Display Actors Guild Awards. The ceremony was held at Barker Hangar in Santa Monica, California. Troy Kotsur, Best Supporting Actor in a Film, is the first deaf actor to win an individual SAG Award. And for the first time, the actors in the non-English language collection, in the Korean event “Squid Recreation,” received domestic awards. Lee Jung-jae received the award for Best Male Actor in a Drama Collection, and Jung Ho-yeon received the award for Best Female Actor in a Drama Collection. Here is the list of winners in this picture:


A 53-year veteran actor, Kotsur, who gave a breakthrough performance in Sian Heder’s film, was already the first deaf actor to be nominated individually for a SAG Award. When his name was revealed, Kotsur put his head in his arms. On stage, he praised “CODA” as an unusual film for authentically portraying a deaf family. However, he concluded humorously, saying, “Thanks to my wife for reminding me to test my fly before walking the pink carpet.” “Squid Recreation,” wins for Lee and Jung came from “Succession” stars Brian Cox and Jeremy Sturdy, and big names like “The Morning Present”‘s Reese Witherspoon and Jennifer Aniston. Jung again, tearfully advised the gang, “I have seen you many times on the big screen, dreaming of becoming an actor in the future.”


The SAG Awards are regarded as some of the most reliable predictors of the Academy Awards. Actors make up the largest proportion of the Academy of Movement Footage Arts and Sciences. Kotsur’s win implied that he would have emerged as an Oscar favourite over contestants, most notably Kodi Smit-McPhee of “The Energy of the Canine.” Meanwhile, “West Aspect Story”‘s Ariana DeBose confirmed her standing on Sunday with a win for Outstanding Supporting Performance by a Female Actor. DeBose said: “It’s taken me a long time to really feel comfortable calling myself an actor. My roots come from the dance world and the Broadway stage, and the Anita we see on performance took me a little bit, although it took 10 years to build it.”


The SAG Awards were introduced by the Hollywood Actors Guild and SAG-AFTRA. After the January Golden Globes were a non-event, the Display Actors Guild Awards have been Hollywood’s first major, televised, in-person awards show, which is filled with a pink carpet and tearful speeches this year. Let you know that, some of the cast appeared remotely, including the main TV nominee, “Ted Lasso,” citing the quarantine rules associated with the production schedule. Jason Sudeikis accepts the award for Best Actor in a Comedy Series, demonstrating his skills via video link with castmates in the audience. While vaccinations are not mandatory for Academy Award presenters (attendees only), they are required for the SAG Awards, which are voted on by SAG-AFTRA, the Hollywood Actors Guild.

You may also like...