Hema Malini, Prasoon Joshi To Be Awarded Film Personalities Of The Year At IFFI

The Indian Film Personality of the Year award will be presented to actor and BJP leader Hema Malini, as well as lyricist and former CBFC chief Prasoon Joshi, at the International Film Festival of India 2021, which kicks off this Saturday in Goa.

“Their contributions to the field of Indian cinema spread over decades and their body of work has enthralled audiences across generations. They are Indian cinematic icons who are admired and respected the world over”, said Union Minister for Information and Broadcasting Anurag Singh Thakur, making the announcement on Thursday.

On Saturday, the IFFI will begin in a hybrid — virtual and physical — style.

Hema Malini is a politician, as well as an actor, writer, director, and producer. In 1963, she made her acting debut in the Tamil film Idhu Sathiyam, and in 1968, she made her Hindi film debut in Sapno Ka Saudagar as the lead actor. She has appeared in over 150 films since then, including Sholay, Seeta Aur Geeta, Satte pe Satta, and Baghban, among others.

Hema Malini was a member of the Rajya Sabha from 2003 until 2009, after being nominated by the then-President of India. Hema Malini was elected as a Member of Parliament from the Mathura seat in the 2014 General Election. She has also received numerous honors, including the Padma Shri, India’s fourth-highest civilian honor.

Joshi is a poet, novelist, lyricist, screenwriter, and communication expert. At the age of 17, he released his first collection of prose and poetry. He is now the chairman of McCann World Group Asia and the CEO of McCann World Group India.

The Satyajit Ray Lifetime Achievement Award will be presented to filmmakers Martin Scorsese and Istvan Szabo at the 52nd IFFI, which begins on November 20 in Goa.

This year’s IFFI will identify ’75 Creative Minds of Tomorrow’, representatives of GenNext Cinema, and encourage their participation in IFFI and engagement with master filmmakers from around the world, in honor of India’s 75th year of independence.